Race Results

Olson 30 Nationals
St. Petersburg, FL
February 13-16, 2006

Jack-A-Roe’s Florida program brings crew from competing Chicago boats together every year. Photo provided by Boatingshots.com


Wild Rover just had incredible boat speed and pointing for the whole regatta reported John Dybas from Jack-A-Roe. Photo provided by Boatingshots.com

1) Mike McGagh, Betancourt, Mellino, Ruder/Ruder & Powell, League City, TX, Wild Rover; 2) Gary Gochal, Stanichar, Bertuccu/Lopez, Maldonado & Craporatta, North Brunswick, NJ, Slice; 3) Bob Bozeman, Shepard, Smith & Matt, St. Petersburg, FL, Twisted Fate; 4) David Wilby, Wilby, Love/Reid, Vandenburg & Clarke, Kingston, ON, CA, Offliction; 5) John Dybas, Mohr/Thomas, Arntzen, Harris & Sansome, Chicago, IL, Jack-A-Roe; 6) Doug Scott, Booker, Boler, Schilson & Sauls/Mortimer, St. Petersburg, FL, Mystere; 7) Ben Rotteveel, Rand, Kennedy & Vangils, Battersea, ON,CA, Ritalin

25 Schools Make the Grade

While balancing course loads, core curriculums and grade-point averages, college sailors around the country have worked all year long to earn their ticket to the final playoffs – the Inter-Collegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) National Championships. From 161 eligible schools, 25 have “made the grade” and qualified to send their best sailors to compete for the three championship titles on the line: the ICSA National Women's Dinghy Championship (with racing scheduled for May 24-26), will be followed by the ICSA/Layline National Team Race Championship (May 28-30) and, finally, the ICSA/Gill National Coed Dinghy Championship (May 31-June 2).

A chaotic start line at the Olson 30 Nationals. Photo provided by Boatingshots.com

The action will take place on the Cooper River as the College of Charleston Cougars host the visiting teams at their J. Stewart Walker, Jr. Sailing Complex. Located in the Patriots Point Marina (Point Pleasant, S.C.), the complex is adjacent to the Patriots Point Naval & Maritime Museum where spectators will be welcome aboard the legendary World War II aircraft carrier USS Yorktown for a prime spot from which to watch racing.

In addition to southern hospitality, George Wood, College of Charleston’s Head Coach, said competitors are “guaranteed beautiful weather and winds around 10-15 knots,” which is sure to be a big hit with the sailors, many of whom tested the venue during three events hosted by Charleston last February
Documenting the action from the coed dinghy championship, noted sailing commentator Gary Jobson (Annapolis, Md.) will produce a one-hour program for ESPNU, the network devoted entirely to college sports. The 2006 ICSA/Gill National Championship is set to air June 10, 11, 19, 22 and 29. Check www.jobsonsailing.com for airtimes.

BACKGROUND - The ICSA National Championships brings together sailors representing seven North American conferences to compete in three distinctive events. In the Women's and Dinghy events, each of the 18 schools fields a separate A and B division team. Weather permitting, each division sails eighteen 20- to 30-minute fleet races over three days for a total of 36 races. A team's final score is determined by the combined results of its sailors in A and B divisions. The Team Race Championship pits each college's three-boat team against another's in a round-robin series of matches with the top-four of 14 teams proceeding to a double round-robin championship series to determine the overall winner.

Conference eliminations qualified 18 colleges to compete in the women's championships; 14 for the team racing championship; and 16 qualified for the dinghy championship, which also includes two teams selected at-large.

ICSA AWARDS - ICSA will recognize the achievements of its members at a banquet on June 2, 2006, when it names the College Sailor of the Year, Sportsman of the Year and Student Leader of the Year, as well as the ICSA All-America Sailing Team recognizing both skippers and crews who have recorded outstanding achievements in college sailing throughout the year. The Leonard M. Fowle Trophy for the college with the best combined record from the six collegiate championships (including last fall’s ICSA / Vanguard North American Men's Singlehanded Championship, ICSA / Vanguard North American Women's Singlehanded Championship, and the ICSA Sloop North American Championship) will also be awarded.

Additionally, post-graduate leaders will be inducted into the College Sailing Hall of Fame in the categories of Outstanding Service/Professional and Lifetime Service. Those honorees will be selected based on their service specifically to college sailing.

The Quantum Female College Sailor of the Year award will be announced at the conclusion of the North American Women's Dinghy Championship on May 26.

To learn more about ICSA, visit www.collegesailing.org. For additional information on the sponsors of these championships, please visit them online: www.gillna.com, www.layline.com/, www.quantumsails.com and www.teamvanguard.com.

For additional information on the 2006 ICSA National Championships, please visit the event website: http://collegesailing.org/nas/spring06/ where results and photos by Glennon Stratton will also be available.

Midwest and Great Lakes Area list of Teams Qualified in the 2006 ICSA National Championships follows
ICSA National Women’s Dinghy Championship

May 24-26, 2006
University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, Mich.); University of Wisconsin (Madison, Wis.);

ICSA/Layline National Team Race Championship
May 28-30, 2006
University of Michigan (Ann Arbor, Mich.); University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, Minn.); University of Wisconsin (Madison, Wis.)

ICSA/Gill National Coed Dinghy Championship
May 30-June 2, 2006
University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, Minn.); University of Wisconsin (Madison, Wis.)