Vacation Courses on Lake Superior

 

Class Location: Apostle Islands, Lake Superior. Vacation Courses are held in the beautiful Apostle Islands near Bayfield, Wisconsin. Four-day classes run every weekend from early June through late September. Students may pre-board your boat after 5:00 PM the Wednesday night before the course starts.

Link to Apostles Islands National Seashore: Apostle Islands National Seashore

Link to "Our Marina," at Pike's Bay, two miles south of Bayfield, Wisconsin: Pike's Bay Marina


Combined Basic Coastal Cruising Bareboat Charter Certification: ASA Courses 103 & 104
Basic Coastal Cruising (103) and Bareboat Charter (104) are taught aboard our 34'-36' cruising auxiliary sailboats as a four-day liveaboard course. Course fee includes course materials - ASA textbooks, Coastal Cruising Made Easy and Cruising Fundamentals, class notes and ASA Certifications. Students sleep aboard our sloops at the finest marina in the Apostle Islands and anchor out on Saturday night. Lunches on Thursday & Friday as well as all meals on Saturday & Sunday are included.

The Bayfield combined Basic Coastal Cruising and Bareboat Charter course can be scheduled as a regular Bayfield course or as a Family and Friends course.

To start your registration, please return the form below with preferred dates and course info either online or by snail mail to:
Northern Breezes Sailing School, 3949 Winnetka Avenue North, Minneapolis, MN 55427

2015 Season
Docking Lake Minnetonka: Sat-Sun: May 16-17
Spring Flotilla: Sat-Mon: May 23-25*
Docking Bayfield: Sat-Sun: May 30-31
Family&Friends 1: Mon-Wed: June 1-3
Bayfield 2: Thurs-Sun: June 4-7
Family&Friends 3: Mon-Wed: June 8-10
Bayfield 4: Thurs-Sun: June 11-14
Family&Friends 5: Mon-Wed: June 15-17
Bayfield 6: Thurs - Sun: June 18-21
Family&Friends 7: Mon-Wed: June 22-24
Bayfield 8: Thurs - Sun: June 25-28
Family&Friends 9: Mon-Wed: June 29-July 1
Bayfield Race Week: Mon-Fri: June 29-July 3*
Bayfield 10: Thurs - Sun: July 2-5
Family&Friends 11: Mon-Wed: July 6-8
Bayfield 12: Thurs - Sun: July 9-12
Family&Friends 13: Mon-Wed: July 13-15
Bayfield 14: Thurs - Sun: July 16-19
Family&Friends 15: Mon-Wed: July 20-22
Bayfield 16: Thurs - Sun: July 23-26
Family&Friends 17: Mon-Wed: July 27-29
Bayfield 18: Thurs - Sun: July 30-Aug 2
Family&Friends 19: Mon-Wed: Aug 3-5
Bayfield 20: Thurs - Sun: Aug 6-9
Family&Friends 21: Mon-Wed: Aug 10-12
Bayfield 22: Thurs - Sun: Aug 13-16
Family&Friends 23: Mon-Wed: Aug 17-19
Bayfield 24: Thurs - Sun: Aug 20-23
August Flotilla: Fri-Sun: Aug 21-23*
Family&Friends 25: Mon-Wed: Aug 24-26
Bayfield 26: Thurs - Sun: Aug 27-30
Family&Friends 27: Mon-Wed: Aug 31-Sep 2
Bayfield 28: Thurs - Sun: Sep 3-6
Family&Friends 29: Mon-Wed: Sep 7-9
Bayfield 30: Thurs - Sun: Sep 10-13
Family&Friends 31: Mon-Wed: Sep 14-16
Bayfield 32: Thurs - Sun: Sep 17-20
Family&Friends 33: Mon-Wed: Sep 21-23
Fall Flotilla: Sat-Mon: Sep 26-28*

* Fun Sails with Learning and Experience but "No" Set Class

 
See our Vacation courses in the Caribbean



Fee - $995 per person; includes sleeping berth and all meals onboard. Meals ashore are the responsibility of each student. $95 discount for couples (any two people signing up together)
Instructor to Student Ratio is One to Four Maximum!
Prerequisite: ASA 101 - Basic Keelboat*

* We are flexible.  If you would like day classes, private lessons, rides, refresher, etc. Please call.

Call Northern Breezes Sailing School at 763-542-9707 to register or ask questions.

The following two courses, Basic Cruising - ASA Course 103 and Bareboat Charter Certification - ASA 104, are included in the 4-day combined vacation course program. Read the individual course descriptions for more detail. Flexibility in response to weather often requires rearrangement of scheduling of specific items in the course from one day to a different day.

Basic Cruising -  ASA Course 103

This is the first part of a two-part program. Course is conducted on 34'-36' cruising auxiliary sailboats.
Students will learn the fundamentals of large boat cruising while doing it! Preparation for skippering on larger bodies of water is the focus. The Basic Cruising Vacation course is combined in the Apostle Islands with Bareboat Charter Cruising into a four-day live aboard  with pre-boarding the night before the course begins. This is the same program as our highly successful British Virgin Islands vacation week.

Course Outline

Day 1: Boat Systems & Battery, Electrical Panel, Engine, Prop Walk, Docking, Sailing Tacks & Jibes (Possible Testing)

Day 2: Sail Trim, Crew Overboard Procedures, Reefing, Heaving to, Anchoring (Possible Testing)

Day 3: Navigation, Chart Problem, Rules of the Road, Sound Signals, Buoys, Lights, VHF, Cruising Tips, Docking, Student Directed Reviews

Day 4: Safety Systems, Heavy Weather Sailing, Student Directed Reviews.

Includes textbook, Sailing Fundamentals, published by American Sailing Association, class notes, exam and ASA certification.

Navigation instruments will be available for purchase.

Bareboat Charter Certification - ASA Course 104

Bareboat Charter Cruising - Part 2 is taught by U.S. Coast Guard licensed captains on Lake Superior. Qualified graduates will become bareboat charter certified from 30 to 45 feet.

This is the second part of a two-part certification program. This is a two-day live-aboard course held on a cruising auxiliary sailboat on Lake Superior. Students will prepare all meals onboard, and anchor out on Saturday night. Students will learn to maneuver the boat under power, dock, anchor, and navigate in differing weather conditions. Successful candidates will receive bareboat charter certification upon completion. Instructor is ASA certified, U.S. Coast Guard licensed captain.

Course Outline:

Day 1: Boat Systems & Battery, Electrical Panel, Engine, Prop Walk, Docking, Sailing Tacks & Jibes (Possible Testing)

Day 2: Sail Trim, Crew Overboard Procedures, Reefing, Heaving to, Anchoring (Possible Testing)

Day 3: Navigation, Chart Problem, Rules of the Road, Sound Signals, Buoys, Lights, VHF, Cruising Tips, Docking, Student Directed Reviews

Day 4: Safety Systems, Heavy Weather Sailing, Student Directed Reviews.

Students should bring clothing for all weather conditions, sleeping bag, towel, and navigation instruments. Meals from Saturday breakfast to Sunday lunch are provided onboard.

To start your registration, please return the form below with preferred dates and course info either online or by snail mail to:
Northern Breezes Sailing School, 3949 Winnetka Avenue North, Minneapolis, MN 55427

asalogo.jpg (20761 bytes)

Northern Breezes Sailing School
3949 Winnetka Ave. N.
Minneapolis, MN  55427
Call For Free Brochure (763) 542-9707

American Sailing Association Sailing School

Please fill out the following information so we can reply to your inquiries.
First Name:
Last Name:
Email:
Address :
City: State:
Zip:
Phone:

I am most interested in...

F&F 1  Bay 2  F&F 3  Bay 4  F&F 5   Bay 6 
F&F 7 
Bay 8 F&F 9  Bay 10 F&F 11 Bay 12 F&F 13  Bay 14
F&F 15 Bay 16 F&F 17 Bay 18 F&F 19 Bay 20 F&F 21
Bay 22 F&F 23 Bay 24 F&F 25 Bay 26 F&F 27 Bay 28 F&F 29
Bay 30 F&F 31 Bay 32 F&F 33

 


TOP