world-match-tour2010 news alert


Sailors aged 25 and below from outside Asia can compete at Asian Match Racing Championship

Asian Match Racing Championship photo by SubZero Images Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia – 18 August 2010: A ground breaking initiative announced today by The World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) will ensure that young sailors have the chance to compete for a place in the WMRT’s prestigious season ending finale, the Monsoon Cup.

The Asian Match Racing Championship (AMRC), a qualifying event for the glittering Monsoon Cup, is set to allow sailors under the age of 25 from outside of Asia to compete in the event for the first time this year, as well as other Asian teams.

This unique decision was taken by the AMRC to help encourage the development of match racing, a unique style of competitive sailing which sees participants go head-to-head in close quarters on the water. Current ISAF World Match Racing Tour Champion (WMRT), Adam Minoprio, has shown just what the AMRC can do for a sailor’s career having first made a name for himself by winning the AMRC in 2006 and 2007 respectively.

The AMRC will now look to replicate that story by allowing more young sailing talent from around the world the opportunity to race in the Championship, which gives the winner a berth in the Monsoon Cup at the end of the year. The sailing hotspots of Australia and New Zealand already come under the territory of Asia with regards to the WMRT and so the decision to open the field yet further is sure to make this year’s AMRC the most competitive yet. The World Match Racing Tour is the well worn pathway to the America’s Cup and is targeted by many of these young sailors.

Monsoon Cup Race Advisor, Peter Gilmour, said: “We have had many requests from professional sailors globally who want to compete in the Monsoon Cup. I sincerely believe the decision to open the field to youth sailors from around the world will be a step in the right direction for both the sport and Malaysian sailing.

“We need to develop more events for the youth and I’m happy the AMRC is taking that step forward. Three Turkish sailors and two from the Philippines signed up for the recent Monsoon Sailing School. This shows there is real interest in the sport from all over the world and many are looking at Malaysia as the hub for Asian Match Racing. As such, I feel all the initiatives taken under the Monsoon Cup umbrella will help achieve this.”

Besides Minoprio, last year’s AMRC winner, Phil Robertson, has also started to stamp his name in match racing with victory in the Korea Match Cup qualifiers earlier this year. He went on to finish 11th overall in the Korea Match Cup.
This year the AMRC takes place from the 26th to 29th October at the Ri- Yaz Heritage Marina Resort & Spa in Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia, the home venue of the Monsoon Cup.

The AMRC is one of two events of which the winners will gain a berth into the Monsoon Cup, the other being the Malaysian Match Racing Championships (MMRC) which take place on 20th to 23rd October at Ri-Yaz Heritage Marina Resort & Spa.

For further information contact Mira Navaretna at or visit for more information

About the Asian Match Racing Championships (AMRC)
At its debut in 2006, the AMRC saw participation from five regional teams, including from Singapore, Australia, New Zealand and Hong Kong, racing in the world-class Pulau Duyong match race circuit, which is also the venue for the Monsoon Cup.

Last year saw a massive increase in interest with over 30 international teams applying for a chance to compete. But only seven selected teams were racing in the AMRC, including two from Malaysia. Now its grown to include the participation of youths under 25 from around the globe.

Asian Match Racing Championship Winners:
2006 - Adam Minoprio (NZL) – BlackMatch Racing
2007 - Adam Minoprio (NZL) – BlackMatch Racing
2008 - Keith Swinton (AUS) – BlackSwan Racing
2009 – Phil Robertsson (NZL), Team New Zealand WAKA Racing

About the ISAF World Match Racing Tour:
The World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) is the leading professional sailing series featuring 10 World Championship events across the globe, sanctioned by the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) with “Special Event” status.

The World Tour awards over US$1.5million in prize money with points awarded at each event culminating in the crowning of the “ISAF Match Racing World Champion”. In addition, an incentive to compete in the world’s premier sailing series just got bigger. A US$250,000 overall prize pool for the top nine teams with a $50,000 bonus for the outright winner of next year’s World Match Racing Tour is now on offer.

Events utilize the same “match race” format used in the America’s Cup with racing taking place in identically supplied racing yachts which places a focuses on team work and skill. Racing takes place close to the shore for the general public to follow the races as virtual on-the-water stadiums.

Media and television highlights coverage reaches over 2.1 billion households in excess of 183 countries around the world.

ISAF World Match Racing Tour Calendar
Match Race France 6 - 11 April Marseille, France
Match Race Germany 19 – 24 May Langenargen, Germany
Korea Match Cup 8 – 13 June Gyeonggi, South Korea
Portimão Portugal Match Cup 22 – 27 June Portimão, Portugal
Match Cup Sweden 5 – 11 July Marstrand, Sweden
St Moritz Match Race 31 Aug – 5 Sept St Moritz, Switzerland
Danish Open 8 – 12 Sept Bornholm, Denmark
Argo Group Gold Cup 4 – 10 Oct Hamilton, Bermuda
Qingdao Match Cup 19 – 24 Oct Qingdao, China
Monsoon Cup 30 Nov – 5 Dec Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia

2010 ISAF World Match Racing Tour Standings
(After Stage 5 of 10)

1. Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team 77 Points
2. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team 60 Points
3. Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing 54 Points
4. Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar 52 Points
5. Ben Ainslie (GBR) TEAMORIGIN 45 Points
6. Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing 43 Points
7. Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra 41 Points
8. Jesper Radich (DEN) Radich Racing Team 40 Points
9. Magnus Holmberg (SWE) Sigma Racing Team 29 Points
10. Paolo Cian (ITA) Team Italia 16 Points

2010 Tour Card Holders:
Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing
Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team
Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra
Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing
Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Hansen Global Team
Bertrand Pace (FRA) Aleph Sailing Team
Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team
Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar