world-match-tour2010 news alert

19 AUGUST 2010

ISAF World Match Racing Tour Features On CNN Flagship Show Mainsail

London, UK – 19 August 2010 - The ISAF World Match Racing Tour, the world championship series of head-to-head racing, continues to grab the media spotlight with action from the fifth and most recent round in Sweden providing the focus for CNN’s flagship sailing program MainSail.

The program which aired for the first time today at 12.30 and 16.30 will be repeated on Saturday 21 August at 07.30, 17.30 and 20.00 again on Sunday 22 August at 03.00, 07.30 and 15.00 (all times GMT) features the thrilling action from the Stena Match Cup Sweden which saw Britain’s three time Olympic gold medallist Ben Ainslie crowned the ‘Maestro of Marstrand’.

The program fronted by Shirley Robertson showcases the unique nature of match racing, the same format of racing used in the America’s Cup. Having established itself as the foremost training ground for America’s Cup skippers The World Match Racing Tour continues to feature the very best sailors in the world as they look to hone their skills.

The program will be aired across all CNN’s platforms in EMEA, North America, Latin America and South Asia. The feature is yet another boost for the World Match Racing Tour which is gaining an increasing global media profile with highlights of the Tour being shown in over 180 countries on channels such as CNBC, Eurosport, Setanta Africa, Sky Sports, ESPN Star Sports and Fox Sports.

Following a mid-season break The World Match Racing Tour is set to spring back into action with the world’s best sailors locking horns in a double header. The St Moritz Match Race takes place from 31 August to 5 September and will be followed immediately by the Danish Open in Bronholm from 8 to 12 September.

About the ISAF World Match Racing Tour:
The World Match Racing Tour (WMRT) is the leading professional sailing series featuring 10 World Championship events across the globe, sanctioned by the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) with “Special Event” status.

The World Tour awards over US$1.5million in prize money with points awarded at each event culminating in the crowning of the “ISAF Match Racing World Champion”. In addition, an incentive to compete in the world’s premier sailing series just got bigger. A US$250,000 overall prize pool for the top nine teams with a $50,000 bonus for the outright winner of next year’s World Match Racing Tour is now on offer.

Events utilise the same “match race” format used in the America’s Cup with racing taking place in identically supplied racing yachts which places a focuses on team work and skill. Racing takes place close to the shore for the general public to follow the races as virtual on-the-water stadiums.

Media and television highlights coverage reaches over 2.1 billion households in excess of 183 countries around the world.

ISAF World Match Racing Tour Calendar
Match Race France 6 - 11 April Marseille, France
Match Race Germany 19 – 24 May Langenargen, Germany
Korea Match Cup 8 – 13 June Gyeonggi, South Korea
Portimão Portugal Match Cup 22 – 27 June Portimão, Portugal
Match Cup Sweden 5 – 11 July Marstrand, Sweden
St Moritz Match Race 31 Aug – 5 Sept St Moritz, Switzerland
Danish Open 8 – 12 Sept Bornholm, Denmark
Argo Group Gold Cup 4 – 10 Oct Hamilton, Bermuda
Qingdao Match Cup 19 – 24 Oct Qingdao, China
Monsoon Cup 30 Nov – 5 Dec Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia

2010 ISAF World Match Racing Tour Standings
(After Stage 5 of 10)

1. Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team 77 Points
2. Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team 60 Points
3. Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing 54 Points
4. Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar 52 Points
5. Ben Ainslie (GBR) TEAMORIGIN 45 Points
6. Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing 43 Points
7. Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra 41 Points
8. Jesper Radich (DEN) Radich Racing Team 40 Points
9. Magnus Holmberg (SWE) Sigma Racing Team 29 Points
10. Paolo Cian (ITA) Team Italia 16 Points

2010 Tour Card Holders:
Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing
Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team
Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra
Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing
Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Hansen Global Team
Bertrand Pace (FRA) Aleph Sailing Team
Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team
Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar