NEWPORT, Bermuda Race 2010

Who won the Newport Bermuda Race?
By Talbot Wilson

Photos: Talbot Wilson and Barry Pickthall/PPL Who won the Newport Bermuda Race?
Dateline: HAMILTON BERMUDA, June 23, 2010
No single boat ‘wins’ the Newport Bermuda Race.The classic ocean race has 5 divisions and 16 classes. The 183 boats entered in 2010 raced for over 90 trophies including for 5 major division trophies under the Offshore Racing Rule (ORR) system and a one major prize for IRC that combines most boats in two divisions that choose to be dual scored. Winners in the 16 classes win perpetual trophies and up to 4-deep keepers.

The St. David’s Lighthouse is often regarded as the main trophy because that division is the largest with 100-plus boats and because it carries on the founder's aim to get amateurs sailing offshore in cruising-racing boats. Winning any division however has its bragging rights.

St. David's Lighthouse Divsion for the St. David's Lighthouse Trophy:

Carina, the McCurdy & Rhodes 48, sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook CT) finished at 6:55:06 ADT. Her corrected time was 55:28:27. This division is for yachts with predominantly amateur crew.

Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Division for the Gibbs Hill Lighthouse trophy

Sir Geoffrey Mulcahy’s Swan 56 Noonmark VI (London, UK) crossed the line at 2:40:18 on Tuesday morning. This Frers designed Swan 56 sailed under the English flag. She had a corrected time of 52:48:32. This division allows full professional crews.

Cruiser Division for the Carleton Mitchell Finesterre Trophy

Neal Finnegan’s Swan 56 Clover III (Dedham, MA) crossed the line at 2:17:11 on Tuesday. One of two Swan 56 to take top prizes, her corrected time was 72:04:49. This division is for mostly amateur crews sailing cruising style boats

Double Handed Division for The Moxie Prize

Jason A. Richter’s J-35 Paladin (Mt. Sinai, NY) co skippered by Robert Fischer (Patchogue, NY). Paladin’s corrected time was 73:30:36. One professional is allowed, if that person is the owner.

Open Division for the Royal Mail Trophy

Mark Watson (Hamilton. Bermuda) skipper of the US Merchant Marine’s Dubois 90 Genuine Risk finished on Monday at 7:48:45. The corrected time was 53:43:32. This division is for cant-keel boats with full professional crews allowed.

Combined Gibbs Hill and St. David’s Lighthouse Divisions for the IRC North Rock Beacon Trophy

Carina, the McCurdy& Rhodes 48,sailed by Rives Potts (Westbrook, CT), finished at 6:55:06 Tuesday morning. Her IRC corrected time was 91:57:51.

For the final results go to RACE RESULTS

2010 Newport Bermuda Race

The race started on June 18 at Newport, where the New York Yacht Club’s Sailing Center served as race headquarters.

Divisions and prizes: There are five divisions. The St David’s Lighthouse Trophy is awarded to the top boat in the race's largest and most historic division, which is for amateur crews. The Gibbs Hill Lighthouse Trophy goes to the winner of the professional division. The Cruiser Division winner is awarded the Carleton Mitchell Finisterre Trophy. First prize in the Double-Handed Division is the Moxie Trophy, given in memory of Philip S. Weld. The winner of the Open Division (for cant-keelers) is presented with the Royal Mail Trophy. In addition, the top boat under the IRC Rule receives the North Rock Beacon Trophy.

There also are prizes for first to finish, the winning navigator and family participation, plus the famous Galley Slave Trophy for the cook in the last boat to finish.

Newport Bermuda Race Facts

bermuda logoThe Newport Bermuda Race is a sailing classic that stands with the Fastnet, the Sydney-Hobart and the Transpac as one of the world’s top four ocean races. One of very few international races, it is historic, prestigious, and challenging. It inspires remarkable loyalty among the many thousands of sailors who have raced 635 miles across blue water since the first 'thrash to the Onion Patch' in 1906. More than 50 men or women have sailed at least 15 races. Since 1968, an average of 160 boats has competed, in good economic times and bad. The biggest turnouts were in the most recent races—the 265-boat fleet in the 2006 Centennial Race, and the 198 starters in 2008. More