Field Crowned Layline OakCliff Melges 24 National Champion, Filter Takes Corinthian Honors

27 June 2010; Newport, R.I. - Congratulations to 2010 Layline Oakcliff Melges 24 U.S. National Champion Alan Field on WTF and his team comprised of Steve Hunt, Erik Shampain, Sarah Curran and Jeff Reynolds. "It feels great to win in a fleet like this, but it's just another step for us." said Field after racing. "Now, it's off to the Traverse City event and we'll be racing the North Americans at Rochester this coming September." Additional congratulations are extended to Annapolis' Henry Filter on Wild Child as he is the 2010 Layline Oakcliff Melges 24 Corinthian U.S. National Champion. Assisting Filter with the victory were crew members, Tom Murray, Ben Cesare and Ian Coleman.

In second overall is Geoff Ewenson at the helm for J.C. Raby on Evil Donut and third overall is David Dabney on Conejo Racing - Ocean Sailing Academy.

Last evening, the Melges Rocks took place with the fleets partying into the late evening hours at Riptide to the sounds of Chelley of the Ravers, free beer and great camaraderie! Special thanks to Melges USA for bringing this amazing party to Newport!

With Field leading the charge by two points, the fleet was greeted on Sunday morning with heavy fog and no breeze for the start of the final day of racing. They were immediately put under postponement with hopes of an eventual lift, sunshine and decent breeze, lasting for more than an hour and well past noon. At approximately 1 o’clock, racing was abandoned with Saturday’s results still standing.

An event such as 2010 Layline Oakcliff National Championship never happens without the unwavering dedication and input from Melges 24 owners and sailors, excellent sailing club volunteers and countless hours of organizing. The U.S. Melges 24 Class Association (USMCA) would specifically like to recognize the hard work and passion of NE District Governor Cary Siegler, Regatta Co-Chair J.C. Raby and Anthony Kotoun. Most especially to Kim Cooper at Sail Newport and awesome PRO Tom Duggan and committee for the incredible race management.

Top Five Results (FINAL)
1.) Alan Field, WTF; 2-[6]-2-1-3-4 = 12
2.) Geoff Ewenson/J.C. Raby, Evil Donut; 1-3-4-3-[10]-3 = 14
3.) David Dabney, Conejo Racing - Ocean Sailing Academy; [14]-1-6-5-2-2 = 16
4.) Henry Filter, Wild Child; 6-4-1-7-6-[8] = 24
5.) Jennifer Wilson, Convexity; 3-5-5-[14]-4-7 = 24

View Full Results
View Photo Gallery
Official Event Website

A pinnacle event on the schedule is the 2010 North American Championship happening on September 20-26 in Rochester, N.Y. Every team can count on more racing, more parties and more fun from host Rochester Yacht Club. Visit the Official Event Website today and Register Online.

The 2010 Melges 24 National Championship is graciously supported and encouraged by the following businesses. The U.S. Melges 24 Class Association (USMCA) is especially grateful to title sponsors Layline and Oakcliff Sailing Center.