world matching tour

26 MAY 2010

Audi Becomes a New Boat Sponsor to Stena Match Cup Sweden

ISAF World Match Racing Tour Looks Towards Stage 5

 Subzero Images 2010 Stockholm, Sweden – 26 May 2010 – Audi is a new partner to Stena Match Cup Sweden, Stage 5 of the 2010 ISAF World Match Racing Tour (WMRT). With the new sponsorship, Audi strengthens its engagement in sailing also in Sweden.

For several years, Audi has focused its sponsor investments in sailing internationally, for example as title sponsor in Audi MedCup and as partner in Kieler Woche. Stena Match Cup Sweden is one of the largest public sailing events in the world and a great opportunity to establish the international sponsor strategy in Sweden with the World Match Racing Tour.

“Sailing is a favoured sport to many of our customers. Our engagement in Stena Match Cup Sweden gives us a possibility to strengthen Audi’s presence on the west coast as well as providing a good platform to meet with our customers”, said Niklas Henning, Event and Sponsor Manager, Audi Sverige.

Jan Torstenson, GM at Brandspot and the Commercial Organizer of Stena Match Cup Sweden, commented, “We are very grateful and proud that Audi has chosen to become a sponsor to Stena Match Cup Sweden. A strong brand like Audi will add great value to the event and their experience in sailing internationally makes a partnership very natural and developing”.

The branding concept for the Audi boat in Stena Match Cup Sweden 2010 follows the same guidelines as Audi MedCup and Kieler Woche and is part of the Audi A1-launch.

2010 ISAF World Match Racing Tour Standings (AfterStage 2 of 10)

1 Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team 40 Points
2 Adam Minoprio (NZL) BlackMatch Racing 33 Points
3 Jesper Radich (SWE) Radich Racing Team 20 Points
4 Ben Ainslie (GBR) TEAMORIGIN 20 Points
5 Paolo Cian (ITA) Team Italia 16 Points
6 Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team 16 Points
7 Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra 15 Points
8 Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar 10 Points
9 Sebastian Col (FRA) ALL 4 ONE 10 Points

For access to high resolution images please register at under Multimedia.

2010 Tour Card Holders:

Adam Minoprio (NZL) ETNZ/BlackMatch Racing
Torvar Mirsky (AUS) Mirsky Racing Team
Francesco Bruni (ITA) Azzurra
Peter Gilmour (AUS) YANMAR Racing
Bjorn Hansen (SWE) Hansen Global Team (Gill Global Team for Match Race Germany)
Bertrand Pace (FRA) Aleph Sailing Team
Mathieu Richard (FRA) French Match Racing Team
Ian Williams (GBR) Team GAC Pindar