Race Results

Georgetown University Wins ICSA/LAYLINE National Team Race Championship

Over the last three days, competition for the ICSA/Layline National Team Racing Championship progressed from the opening rounds among 14 colleges (who qualified for the championship through conference eliminations), first eliminating six schools, and then to the “final four” before Georgetown University (Washington, D.C.) emerged with their second national team racing title. In the first round of the series, Georgetown posted a 6-0 win-loss record. During the championship rounds among the top-eight schools, the Hoyas gave up only three races out of 14 for a number one slot into the final round among the top-four schools.

Graduating seniors Andrew Campbell (San Diego, Calif.) and Ed du Moulin (Larchmont, N.Y.), and sophomore Chris Behm (Hampton, Va.) skippered for the Hoyas, while graduating seniors Nick Deane (Boston, Mass.), Kelly Lanzara (Great Falls, Va.) and Dan Monico (Winnetka, Ill.), junior Caroline LaMotte Jr. (Oxford, Md.) and freshman Carly Chamberlain (Newport Beach, Calif.) handled the crew duties.

Winning is definitely “sweeter the second time around,” said Mike Callahan (Falmouth, Mass./ Washington, D.C.), who has coached sailing at Georgetown since 1998. To be successful in Charleston the team’s starting positions were shuffled -- Chris Behm was moved to the pin end and Andrew Campbell to the middle – which tactically “made all the difference” for the Hoyas who do not have to deal with big breeze or current on the Potomac River. Callahan explained that in 2001, when the Hoyas won their first national team racing championship, there was no on-the-water judging and the sailors had to wait until any protests were decided to find out if they were the champions. With the changes to team racing, competitors now know they’ve won as soon as the race is finished.

Racing today under mostly sunny skies with a consistent easterly breeze between 8-12 knots, the course, which was set close to the Ravenel Bridge, afforded the large spectator crowd perfect viewing from the deck of the USS Yorktown. Joining Georgetown in the contest for the title were Tufts University (9 wins-5 losses), Hobart/William Smith Colleges and the University of South Florida (both with 8 wins-6 losses). In the end it came down to who would win the final race of the day to break the tie between Tufts and Georgetown.

“Tufts is a great team and they put on an impressive effort. It was scary coming into the last race, but we won when it counted and we’re very excited,” said Callahan.

BACKGROUND - Conference eliminations qualified 14 colleges, representing seven North American conferences, to compete for the ICSA/Layline National Team Race Championship. The event pits each college's three-boat team against another's in a round-robin series of matches, with the top-four of the 14 teams proceeding to a double round-robin championship series to determine the overall winner.

Women’s Dinghy Championship ICSA
May 24-26
1. Charleston, 2. Georgetown, 3. St. Mary’s

ICSA/Gill Coed National Championship
May 31-June 2
1. Charleston, 2. Georgetown, 3. Harvard

For additional information on the 2006 ICSA National Championships, please visit the event website: http://collegesailing.org/nas/spring06/ where results and photos by Glennon Stratton will also be available.

Detroit NOOD Regatta

1. Hellion, Dane Christy, Bloomfield Hills, MI, 2. Titan, Aitken / Schultes, Grosse Pointe, MI, 3. Bushwacker, Fran and Jerry Anderson, Grosse Pointe Farm, MI, 4. George, Bill Thomas, Milford, MI, 5. Collina, James Gerometta, Oakland, MI.

1. Burden IV, H. Burton Jones, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, 2. Bounder, David Hudgel, Harrison Twp, MI, 3. Saturn, Wally Tsuha, rochester hills,, MI, 4. Victrix, Curtis Kime, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI, 5. Bandit, Charles Tompkins, Grosse Pointe, MI.

Beneteau 36.7
1. Grizzly, Charles Bayer, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI, 2. First Today, Gary Tisdale, Lewiston, NY, 3. Seaweed, Don Finkle, youngstown, NY, 4. Critical, Claudio Martin, London, ON, CAN, 5. Legend, David Shriner, Sterling Hts, MI,.

J35 / T35
1. Falcon, Ed Bayer, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 2. Scandal, Karl Kuspa / Chuck Stormes, Warren, MI, 3. Major Detail, William Vogan, Port Huron, MI, 4. Mr Bill's Wild Ride, William Wildner, Harrison Twp, MI, 5. Night Train, John Herriges, Clinton Township, MI.

1. Merlin, Robert Amsler, Clinton Township, MI, 2. Hot Ticket, Robert Kirkman, Northville, MI, 3. Capers, Don Hudak, Mentor, OH, 4. Ihnsanity, Marvin Ihnen, Troy, MI, 5. Flyin' Irish, William Bresser, Grosse Pointe Park, MI.

1. Smelly Pirate Hooker, Jeff Sampson, Ferndale, MI, 2. Perfect, Ted Pinkerton, Aurora, OH, 3. Liquor Box, Bill Buckles, Loran, OH, 4. Head Honcho, Scott Irwin / Skip Dieball, Maumee, OH, 5. Troll, Tim Britton, Mentor, OH.

C&C 35
1. Bravo, Frank Tenkel, Grosse Pte Shores, MI, 2. Contender, Gary Graham, Grosse Pointe, MI, 3. Siochail, Brian Geraghty, Grosse Pointe Shores, MI, 4. Gandalf, Donald Ragan, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 5. Walloon, John L. Konechne, Mt. Clemens, MI.

Level 126
1. Slapshot, Tom Freeman, St. Thomas, ON, CAN, 2. Lionheart II, Len Strahl, Windsor, ONT, CAN, 3. Sea Fever, Dean Balcirak, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, 4. Avatar, Gordon/Andrew Morlan, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 5. Vmax, Mark Nagel, Bloomfield Hills, MI.

NA 40
1. Velero VII, John Barbour, Grosse Pointe, MI, 2. Majic Star, John Rummel, Sterling Heights, MI, 3. Montombi, Michael Conrad, Northville, MI, 4. Caprice, Irvin Yachness, Bloomfield Hills, MI, 5. On The Edge, R. Rickerd Thompson, Grosse Pointe, MI.

1. C-Jem, C.J. Ruffing, Detroit, MI, 2. Tenacious, Richard Listwan, Grosse Pointe Shores, MI, 3. Macho Duck, David Klaasen, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 4. Wish, Colin Mills, Mentor, OH, 5. Sorcery, Brian Smith, Rochester, MI.

Melges 24
1. Fu, Marc Hollerbach, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 2. USA 175, Ken Gray/ Pat Sagan, East Grand Rapids, MI, 3. Flyer, Chuck Holzman, Farmington Hills, MI, 4. Flying Toaster, Mike Dow, Traverse City, MI, 5. moxie, marty jensen, charlevoix, MI.

Express 27
1. Lorax, Paul Deeds, Birmingham,, MI, 2. Trim, Bob Harvey, Norton Shores, MI, 3. The Black Backpack, John VanTol, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 4. Piper, Scott Sorbie, Clinton Township, MI, 5. Evolution, Nikesch Eric, Westland, MI.

Cal 25
1. Clytie, Dale Marshall, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, 2. holmebrew, J. David Holme, Grosse Pointe, MI, 3. Pirogue, John Shumaker, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI, 4. Never Alone, Paul / Ross Nuechterlein, Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, 5. Target Practice, Stuart Thompson, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI.

1. utopia, david hume, det, MI, 2. Manon, Stephen Hume, Detroit, MI, 3. Moxie, Susan McDonald, Detroit, MI, 4. Bad Whiskey, Fred Meers, St. Clair Shores, MI, 5. Incorrigible, Shawn McNally, G.P.P., MI.

1. Instant Karma, Josh Kerst, Ann Arbor, MI, 2. Mind Games, Jim VanDeVelde, Macomb, MI, 3. Homer J, Dan Webb, Harrison Twp., MI, 4. Suicide Blonde, Harold Stackpoole, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 5. Tonic II, Bob Landgraf, Commerce Township, MI.

Ultimate 20
1. honour, Brad Boston, Point Edward, ONT, CAN, 2. High Cotton, Angela Scheibner, Charlotte, NC, 3. Prize, Nancy Duffy, Harrow, ONT, CAN, 4. Cowboy, Sandi Svoboda, Grosse Pointe Park, MI, 5. Big Deal, Christopher VanTol, Grosse Pointe Park, MI.