ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards
Athens, Greece

ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards 2010 - Nominations Invited

Along Rei Humberto de Itália Avenue, Cascais, POR, Photo credit: Rolex / Carlo Borlenghi. Nominations are now invited for the 2010 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Awards, the most prestigious award of recognition in the sport of sailing. Since the first Awards presentation in 1994, the nominees and winners have always included the highest achievers from all disciplines of the sport.

The accomplishments of the sailors nominated each year are an inspiration - from windsurfers and dinghy sailors to offshore specialists, a nominee’s achievements may be an exceptional series of regatta wins, a record breaking passage or a triumph against the odds.

Nominations may be made by anyone and the only criterion for sailors is “outstanding achievement in the sport of sailing” during the qualifying period of 1 September 2009 to 31 August 2010. 

Nominations should be sent to ISAF by 12:00 (UTC) on Monday 6 September 2010 using the Official Nomination Form, available at

Trophy and the Rolex timepieces, Photo credit: Rolex / Carlo Borlenghi A shortlist of nominations will be drawn up by ISAF from all those received by the deadline and those making the cut will go on to become the ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year 2010 Nominees. The 130 ISAF Member National Authorities will then vote for one male and one female sailor who they believe merits the Award.

The winners will be announced at the Awards dinner on Tuesday 9 November in Athens, Greece, the host city for the ISAF Annual Conference. The winners will be presented with the unique marble and silver trophy depicting the globe, crowned with five silver spinnakers representing the continents, together with a personalized Rolex timepiece.  

Who will join the list of winners?


Torben Grael (BRA)

Anna Tunnicliffe (USA)


Ben Ainslie (GBR)

Alessandra Sensini (ITA)


Ed Baird (USA)

Claire Leroy (FRA)


Mike Sanderson (NZL)

Paige Railey (USA)


Fernando Echavarri & Anton Paz (ESP)

Ellen MacArthur (GBR)


Robert Scheidt (BRA)

Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)


Russell Coutts (SUI)

Siren Sundby (NOR)


Ben Ainslie (GBR)

Sofia Bekatorou & Emilia Tsoulfa (GRE)


Robert Scheidt (BRA)

Ellen MacArthur (GBR)


Mark Reynolds & Magnus Liljedahl (USA)

Shirley Robertson (GBR)


Mateusz Kusznierewicz (POL)

Margriet Matthijse (NED)


Ben Ainslie (GBR)

Carolijn Brouwer (NED)


Pete Goss (GBR)

Ruslana Taran & Elena Pakholchik (UKR)


Jochen Schümann (GER)

Lai Shan Lee (HKG)


Russell Coutts (NZL)

Isabelle Autissier (FRA)


Peter Blake (NZL) & Robin Knox-Johnston (GBR)

Theresa Zabell (ESP)