Sally Barkow Wins
the Yngling Class Rolex Miami OCR

Miami, FL, USA
Yngling division Sally Barkow, Deborah Capozzi and Carrie Howe, USA Rolex Miami OCR 2006. Photo: Dan Nerney/Rolex

USA's reigning Yngling World Champions Sally Barkow (Nashotah, WI), Carrie Howe (Grosse Pointe, MI) and Deborah Capozzi (Bayport, NY) also earned the right to skip the medal race, but they chose to compete instead. With nine victories in 12 races, the trio won their Medal Race for good measure, proving why they are the most formidable team on the international Yngling circuit.

"We were on it tactically all week," said Barkow, recently named US SAILING's Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year. "Our team has been in the boat the longest, which is not to say the competition wasn't tough, but when we make a mistake we try to only make it once."

Yngling division, Sally Barkow, Deborah Capozzi and Carrie Howe. Photo: Daniel Forster/Rolex

Taking home the silver was Hannah Swett (New York, NY), Melissa Purdy (Belvedere Tiburon, CA) and Liz Filter (Stevensville, MD)

Rolex Miami OCR

49er (32 boats)

1. Piero Sibello/Gianfranco Sibello, both Alassio, ITA, 2. Chris Draper/Simon Hiscocks, both Portland, GBR, 3. Rodion Luka/George Leonchuk, both Kiev, UKR.

470 Men (21 boats)

1. Nic Asher/Elliot Willis, Lowestoft/Sevenoaks, GBR, 2. Benjamin Bonnaud/Romain Bonnaud, both Nantes, FRA, 3. Gideon Kliger/Udi Gal, Tel-Aviv, ISR.

470 Women (16 boats)

1. Ingrid Petitjean/Nadege Douroux, both Marseille, FRA, 2. Christina Bassadone/Saskia Clark, Southampton/West Mersea, GBR, 3. Amanda Clark/Sarah Mergenthaler, Shelter Island, N.Y./Matawan, N.J., USA.

Finn (25 boats)

1. Rafael Trujillo, Santander, ESP, 2. Christopher Cook, Toronto, CAN, 3. Jonas Hoegh Christensen, DEN.

Laser Full (89 boats)

1. Paul Goodison, Rotherham, GBR, 2. Felix Pruvot, Brest, FRA, 3. Maciej Grabowski, Gdynia, POL.

Laser Radial (47 boats)

1. Anna Tunnicliffe, Plantation, Fla., USA, 2. Paige Railey, Clearwater, Fla., USA, 3. Jennifer Spalding, Vancouver, CAN.

Neil Pryde RS:X Men (39 boards)

1. Nick Dempsey, Weymouth, GBR, 2. Nicolas Huguet, Marseille, FRA, 3. Ivan Pastor, Santander, ESP.

Neil Pryde RS:X Women (20 boards)

1. Bryony Shaw, Weymouth, GBR, 2. Marina Alabau, Santander, ESP, 3. Lucy Horwood, Wales, GBR.

Sonar (6 boats)

1. David Schroeder/Keith Burhans/Bill Mauk, Miami, Fla./Rochester, N.Y./Miami, Fla., USA, 2. Rick Doerr/Ezra Culver/Mike Ross, Clifton, N.J./Miami, Fla./Encinitas, Calif., USA, 3. Carwile Leroy/Ali Soylu/Carlos Rodriguez, Baltimore, Md./Baltimore, Md./Miami Fla, USA.

Star (69 boats)

1. Xavier Rohart/Pascal Rambeau, Martigues/La Rochelle, FRA, 2. Andrew Horton/Brad Nichol, Newport, R.I./Miami Beach, Fla., USA, 3. George Szabo/Eric Monroe, San Diego, Calif./Coronado, Calif., USA.

Tornado (25 boats)

1. John Lovell/Charlie Ogletree, New Orleans, La./Kemah, Texas, USA, 2. Olivier Backes/Paul-Ambroise Sevestre, Marseille/Fontanes, FRA, 3. Revil Xavier/Espagnon Christophe, FRA.

Yngling (14 boats)

1. Sally Barkow/Deborah Capozzi/Carrie Howe, Nashotah, Wis./Bayport, N.Y./Grosse Pointe, Mich., USA, 2. Hannah Swett/Melissa Purdy/Liz Filter, New York, N.Y./Belvedere Tiburon, Calif./Stevensville, Md., USA, 3. Sarah Ayton/Sarah Webb/Victoria Rawlinson, all Weymouth, GBR.